Pithle Bhakri

Pithle Bhakri

Few weeks back a friend from out of town came for some work to Mumbai and I knew he had a liking for ethnic food, home made style. So I took him to Gypsy Corner near Sena Bhavan, Dadar. I typically eat snacky food there. I have never thought of doing lunch. And what a mistake to think so.

The food was superbly awesome. We had rice bhakri or rotis, pitle (made of chickpea flour or besan), bharleli wangi (stuffed brinjal), a dish of bhindi, curds and rice. It was surprisingly so light on the palette. No jarring or overbearing masalas. Exceptionally simple food. I had some ginger juice, which was a mistake, because that was loaded with sugar. I left that after one sip. But that still did not dampen the mood.

It was a amazing meal. For two people we paid some Re 550. Paisa vasool or good value for money lunch. My friend was very happy. Must go here.

Leave a Reply

